Game Developers Choice Awards News: Special Awards and Hosts Revealed


The 13th Annual Game Developers Choices Awards (GDCAs), the leading peer-based awards celebrating game development, has revealed the Lifetime Achievement, Pioneer and Ambassador honorees for this year’s event.


Dr. Ray Muzyka and Dr. Greg Zeschuk, co-founders of the award-winning BioWare™ studio, will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for their contributions to the art and science of games.

The Pioneer Award recipient, noted for creating breakthrough video game genres or concepts, is Steve Russell, for his creation of the legendary game Spacewar!, one of the earliest functioning titles and a vital precursor of early computer games of the ’70s and onwards.

This year’s Ambassador Award honoree, Chris Melissinos, is responsible for curating “The Art of Video Games,” an exhibition at the Smithsonian American Art Museum in 2012. The exhibit explored the 40-year evolution of video games showcased as an artistic medium. The Ambassador Award is given to those who have helped the game industry advance to a better place.

Both the Choice and the Independent Games Festival (IGF) Awards will see the return of industry-favorite hosts with Tim Schafer, LucasArts veteran and President and CEO of Double Fine Productions (Brutal Legend, Costume Quest, The Cave) as host of the Choice Awards ceremony and Pocketwatch Games’ Andy Schatz , creator of 2010 Independent Games Festival Grand Prize winner Monaco, returning as host of the Independent Games Festival awards.

The Game Developers Choice Awards ceremony takes place Wednesday, March 27 at 6:30 pm at the Moscone Convention Center during the 2013 Game Developers Conference in San Francisco.

More information about the 13th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards can be found on the official website at  For information about the 2013 Game Developers Conference, please visit the